A convoy attacked

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

A convoy attacked

Postby Molineux » 01 Oct 2019, 19:08

If a fleet which is convoying and army is attacked does the convoy succeed?
Molineux
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 13 Aug 2013, 12:19
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 1263
All-game rating: 1256
Timezone: GMT+1

Re: A convoy attacked

Postby Strategus » 01 Oct 2019, 19:43

Molineux wrote:If a fleet which is convoying and army is attacked does the convoy succeed?

Yes, as long as the fleet(s) convoying is not dislodged.
The Devil makes work for idle forces

Better to have fought and lost, than never to have fought at all
Actual Platinum Classicist
I did WDC 2017

Just say "NO!" To carebears and kittens
User avatar
Strategus
 
Posts: 1858
Joined: 30 May 2015, 14:30
Location: England
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1583
All-game rating: 1708
Timezone: GMT

Re: A convoy attacked

Postby Kaptain krunch » 01 Oct 2019, 20:41

Convoys have a strength of 2
User avatar
Kaptain krunch
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 24 Feb 2018, 02:53
Location: Soviet Russia
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (800)
All-game rating: (816)
Timezone: GMT-8

Re: A convoy attacked

Postby Strategus » 01 Oct 2019, 20:55

Kaptain krunch wrote:Convoys have a strength of 2

In what world?
The Devil makes work for idle forces

Better to have fought and lost, than never to have fought at all
Actual Platinum Classicist
I did WDC 2017

Just say "NO!" To carebears and kittens
User avatar
Strategus
 
Posts: 1858
Joined: 30 May 2015, 14:30
Location: England
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1583
All-game rating: 1708
Timezone: GMT

Re: A convoy attacked

Postby Kaptain krunch » 02 Oct 2019, 05:20

The rules make it seem as if convoys have a strength of 2, as you must dislodge a fleet before the convoy is cut, as opposed to supports.
(But my explanations are crude so please correct me)
Build a wall mall
User avatar
Kaptain krunch
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 24 Feb 2018, 02:53
Location: Soviet Russia
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (800)
All-game rating: (816)
Timezone: GMT-8

Re: A convoy attacked

Postby Strategus » 02 Oct 2019, 11:07

A fleet that is convoying has strength 1. If dislodged, the convoy does not happen, and therefore zero. If the convoy succeeds, the army has strength 1 wherever it is moving.
The Devil makes work for idle forces

Better to have fought and lost, than never to have fought at all
Actual Platinum Classicist
I did WDC 2017

Just say "NO!" To carebears and kittens
User avatar
Strategus
 
Posts: 1858
Joined: 30 May 2015, 14:30
Location: England
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1583
All-game rating: 1708
Timezone: GMT

Re: A convoy attacked

Postby Locutus » 02 Oct 2019, 16:52

Kaptain krunch wrote:The rules make it seem as if convoys have a strength of 2, as you must dislodge a fleet before the convoy is cut, as opposed to supports.
(But my explanations are crude so please correct me)


A convoy is not a support order; therefore, bouncing a convoy does not have the same effect as bouncing a supporting unit.
Locutus
Premium Member
 
Posts: 60
Joined: 10 May 2015, 02:35
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 911
All-game rating: 942
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: A convoy attacked

Postby TheCraw » 04 Oct 2019, 00:02

Locutus wrote:A convoy is not a support order; therefore, bouncing a convoy does not have the same effect as bouncing a supporting unit.

I think you mean: A convoy is not a support order; therefore, attacking a convoying unit does not have the same effect as attacking a supporting unit.
Very clever, Mr. Smart...
User avatar
TheCraw
 
Posts: 17252
Joined: 05 Dec 2008, 23:39
Location: lurking, baby.... lurking.
Class: Shropshire slasher
All-game rating: 1,000,000
Timezone: GMT-5


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 0 guests