Can you cut support for an attack into your own province?

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: viewtopic.php?f=130&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: viewtopic.php?f=13&t=42845

Can you cut support for an attack into your own province?

Postby idea2go » 04 Sep 2018, 03:39

I had a situation similar to this:

Germany: A Pic-Bel, A Hol (s) Pic-Bel
France: A Bel-Hol, A Ruh (s) A Bel-Hol, A Bur-Bel

I was surprised that Picardy did not succeed into Belgium. Holland’s support seems to have been cut, but I didn’t think a piece in Bel can cut the support of an attack on itself.

Was this the correct resolution, that Bel-Hol succeeds, but Pic-Bel fails?
Premium Member
Posts: 17
Joined: 20 Jun 2014, 01:02
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 1000
All-game rating: 996
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Can you cut support for an attack into your own province

Postby condude1 » 04 Sep 2018, 03:46

That resolution is correct. You can't cut support into your own province UNLESS you make the supporting unit retreat. A unit can never support and retreat in the same turn.
Telleo wrote:I don't think I've ever met someone who more perfectly embodied Chaotic Neutral than Condude1.

Moderator of the Mafia Subforums!

Silver member of The Classicists!
User avatar
Posts: 6951
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 03:41
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1368)
All-game rating: (1307)
Timezone: GMT-8

Re: Can you cut support for an attack into your own province

Postby asudevil » 04 Sep 2018, 14:23

Hol can't cut the support on his own unit. That has nothing really to do with BEL.

Then BEL was a 1v1 bounce...since HOL was cut
Captain FANG, forum team championships WINNER
Part of the surviving nations of WW4/Haven

Unless I am in the cheater's subforum. 99% of what I say is NOT as a mod.

Want to play fantasy football this season here...Reigning Champion
User avatar
Premium Member
Posts: 16492
Joined: 18 Jul 2011, 02:20
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1351
All-game rating: 1497
Timezone: GMT-7

Re: Can you cut support for an attack into your own province

Postby NJLonghorn » 04 Sep 2018, 16:22

Condude1's explanation is correct. Here are the two relevant rules, from page 12 of the The Rules of Diplomacy, 2008 edition:

• Support is cut if the unit giving support is attacked from
any province except the one where support is being
given. The support is cut whether this attack on the
supporting unit succeeds or not.

• Support is cut if the unit giving support is dislodged. If a
unit ordered to support another unit is dislodged by an
attack from any province (including the province into which
it’s giving support) then the support is cut and the unit that
was to receive support doesn’t receive it.

Look in particular at Diagrams 16 and 17 on the same page, which illustrate these two rules. Your situation is parallel to Diagram 17.
Classicists, Aspiring Bronze Silver Gold Bronze Member
I have never surrendered and never NMR'd, and hope to keep that alive. Never mind, the perfect run has come to an end. Dammit, DAMMIT, DAMMIT.
User avatar
Premium Member
Posts: 266
Joined: 07 Sep 2017, 23:41
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1171
All-game rating: 1456
Timezone: GMT-5

Return to Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest