Movement question

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: viewtopic.php?f=130&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: viewtopic.php?f=13&t=42845

Movement question

Postby Bigtasty » 07 Aug 2018, 19:19

Ok so let’s say Britain has an army in province A, Germany has an army in province B, and France has an army in province C. If Britain’s army attacks Germany’s army in province B, Germany’s army holds, and frances army moves into province A, what would the resolution be? Would it be a double standoff and nothing changes or would the French army take control of province A and the British army be dislodged? And as a follow up if it is the latter, would this change if the army in province C was also British and can units be destroyed this way if there are no provinces to retreat to? Thanks.
Bigtasty
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 27 Mar 2016, 23:37
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (947)
All-game rating: (946)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Movement question

Postby V » 07 Aug 2018, 19:27

Nothing goes anywhere under all those circumstances. To dislodge a unit that holds requires a supported attack, to get a 2v1. As soon as one unit bounces (standoff) the others will as well, without support.
If a supported attack caused a unit to be dislodged with no available retreat, yes it gets destroyed.
Platinum Classicist
Voilà! In view, a humble vaudevillian veteran cast vicariously as both victim and villain by the vicissitudes of Fate. This visage, no mere veneer of vanity, is a vestige of the vox populi, now vacant, vanished.
V
 
Posts: 523
Joined: 04 May 2014, 21:28
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1664
All-game rating: 1689
Timezone: GMT-7

Re: Movement question

Postby duckling » 07 Aug 2018, 20:36

See also this situation, which is essentially the same (a bounce causes a hold).

viewtopic.php?t=54336
duckling
Premium Member
 
Posts: 126
Joined: 06 Jan 2010, 17:48
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1139
All-game rating: 1163
Timezone: GMT+1

Re: Movement question

Postby NJLonghorn » 07 Aug 2018, 21:11

You should take some time getting to know the official rule book, which is quite well written and gives useful examples and illustrations if each rule. Here's the relevant quote from the rule book, page 9:

One unit not moving can stop a unit or series of units
from moving. If a unit is ordered to hold, or is prevented
from moving, and other units are ordered into its province,
those other units can’t move. (It’s like a traffic backup!) In
Diagram 5, there is a Russian Army in Prussia. The Russian
player told Germany that he would move out of Prussia (but
he lied and ordered the Army to hold instead). The German
player ordered his Army from Berlin to Prussia and his Fleet
from Kiel to Berlin. The result is that nothing moves.
Classicists, Silver Gold Member
I have never surrendered and never NMR'd, and hope to keep that alive. Never mind, the perfect run has come to an end. Dammit, DAMMIT, DAMMIT.
User avatar
NJLonghorn
Premium Member
 
Posts: 191
Joined: 07 Sep 2017, 23:41
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1200
All-game rating: 1359
Timezone: GMT-5


Return to Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests