Can I destroy and army in order to build elsewhere?

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: viewtopic.php?f=130&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: viewtopic.php?f=13&t=42845

Can I destroy and army in order to build elsewhere?

Postby SirThomasMore » 11 Jun 2017, 21:03

I think I have this right but I'm not sure. It's fall 1903. My army was attacked and needs to retreat/destroy. I have five SCs. If I destroy that army, I will only have 4 units. So I am assuming that by destroying that army I will immediately be allowed to build a fleet before the next set of orders. As that correct?
SirThomasMore
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 24 Dec 2015, 02:59
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (914)
All-game rating: (917)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Can I destroy and army in order to build elsewhere?

Postby Big Gun » 11 Jun 2017, 21:07

Yes, that works. It can be a useful tactic.
KING OF VERSAILLES
9-way draw as Argentina in World Diplomacy 5
3-way draw as Wales in Heptarchy 13
3-way draw as Poland in Modern Extended 2
User avatar
Big Gun
Premium Member
 
Posts: 181
Joined: 21 Mar 2015, 17:48
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 1419
All-game rating: 2522
Timezone: GMT

Re: Can I destroy and army in order to build elsewhere?

Postby I Love Italy » 11 Jun 2017, 21:45

Big Gun wrote:Yes, that works. It can be a useful tactic.


Even more useful if you coordinate with an ally to destroy an unneeded unit.

I.e. if you are doing a successful juggernaut it can be helpful to can be helpful to create trust to dislodge and then destroy Russia's southern fleet.
I have special eyes.
User avatar
I Love Italy
 
Posts: 2354
Joined: 31 Jul 2013, 23:08
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (1041)
All-game rating: (1059)
Timezone: GMT-8

Re: Can I destroy and army in order to build elsewhere?

Postby edmgrim » 12 Jun 2017, 00:41

I Love Italy wrote:
Big Gun wrote:Yes, that works. It can be a useful tactic.


Even more useful if you coordinate with an ally to destroy an unneeded unit.

I.e. if you are doing a successful juggernaut it can be helpful to can be helpful to create trust to dislodge and then destroy Russia's southern fleet.

The voice of experience? ;)
edmgrim
 
Posts: 121
Joined: 31 May 2016, 04:15
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1077)
All-game rating: (1086)
Timezone: GMT-8

Re: Can I destroy and army in order to build elsewhere?

Postby I Love Italy » 12 Jun 2017, 04:46

edmgrim wrote:
I Love Italy wrote:
Big Gun wrote:Yes, that works. It can be a useful tactic.


Even more useful if you coordinate with an ally to destroy an unneeded unit.

I.e. if you are doing a successful juggernaut it can be helpful to can be helpful to create trust to dislodge and then destroy Russia's southern fleet.

The voice of experience? ;)


Yeah. Not just in that case. There's a lot of alliances where it can be useful. And I've played a lot of Diplomacy, so I've seen it all. Even a St. Petersburg to Syria convoy.
I have special eyes.
User avatar
I Love Italy
 
Posts: 2354
Joined: 31 Jul 2013, 23:08
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (1041)
All-game rating: (1059)
Timezone: GMT-8

Re: Can I destroy and army in order to build elsewhere?

Postby eltojo » 14 May 2018, 22:22

Can you always choose to disband a unit, even if it could retreat?
This version of the rules says you can always choose to disband:

http://www.diplomacy-archive.com/resour ... 2AH3rd.pdf
eltojo
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 31 Mar 2018, 02:00
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (1000)
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT+1

Re: Can I destroy and army in order to build elsewhere?

Postby super_dipsy » 15 May 2018, 06:57

Yes. You will see when you have a unit to Retreat and you click it, you get the two options, to Retreat or Disband. You can choose either.
User avatar
super_dipsy
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11340
Joined: 04 Nov 2009, 17:43
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1000)
All-game rating: (956)
Timezone: GMT


Return to Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests