Retreat

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Retreat

Postby dweller » 13 Jun 2019, 00:29

Can a person retreat to a neutral supply centre if he has no other option. And the neutral center is vacant and unclaimed.
If so, will the person claim that supply centre at the end of the move?
Though it can happen in very rare cases but still I want to know your thoughts...
dweller
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 29 Jun 2012, 09:42
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: 898
All-game rating: 887
Timezone: GMT

Re: Retreat

Postby PeytonManThing » 13 Jun 2019, 00:43

Yes to everything. However, that spot cannot have been left vacant due to a standoff (bounce) in that country the turn before. And assuming that this retreat is in the fall, as supply centers cannot be claimed in the spring. Doesn’t matter if the center is unclaimed or belongs to someone else.
Peyton Manning = GOAT

Classicists Gold
PeytonManThing
 
Posts: 79
Joined: 26 Jul 2013, 22:45
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: 1559
All-game rating: 1579
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Retreat

Postby Locutus » 13 Jun 2019, 01:19

One may also retreat into an opposing country's unoccupied/non-contested prior turn center.
Locutus
Premium Member
 
Posts: 57
Joined: 10 May 2015, 02:35
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 921
All-game rating: 963
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Retreat

Postby stew0610 » 13 Jun 2019, 02:43

Also, your post says "if he has no other option." He may do so even if he has other options. It would be the preferred move strategically usually.
stew0610
Premium Member
 
Posts: 85
Joined: 23 Dec 2012, 04:03
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 1352
All-game rating: 1357
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Retreat

Postby Mr.E » 13 Jun 2019, 09:00

All of the above!

Basically, you can retreat to wherever you could normally move to with - at a quick think - two exceptions:
1. As mentioned above, you can't retreat to a contested location, ie one that is unoccupied due to a stand off (bounce), and
2. You can't retreat by convoy. The only unit that can receive an order in a Retreat phase is a unit that can retreat.
Respect neither opinions nor beliefs; only respect the person and the right to express them.
Play by the rules but be ferocious.
User avatar
Mr.E
Premium Member
 
Posts: 201
Joined: 20 Feb 2017, 09:27
Location: Yorkshire
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: 966
All-game rating: 1134
Timezone: GMT

Re: Retreat

Postby dweller » 14 Jun 2019, 14:33

Thanks for the replies... that was really helpful..
dweller
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 29 Jun 2012, 09:42
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: 898
All-game rating: 887
Timezone: GMT


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron