WitA Beta Testing feedback

Subforum for soliciting and discussing feedback on the next map to come to PlayDiplomacy: War in the Americas.

Re: WitA Beta Testing feedback

Postby stew0610 » 11 Jun 2019, 14:29

I just tried to click on the game from the my games screen and received this error message:

"The game has crashed. It will try to auto-repair within an hour"
stew0610
Premium Member
 
Posts: 85
Joined: 23 Dec 2012, 04:03
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1349
All-game rating: 1354
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: WitA Beta Testing feedback

Postby super_dipsy » 11 Jun 2019, 15:29

stew0610 wrote:I just tried to click on the game from the my games screen and received this error message:

"The game has crashed. It will try to auto-repair within an hour"

oh

looks like something has gone wrong....I wonder if it is a knock on fromt he coasts not being set up right. Anyway I will take a look.
User avatar
super_dipsy
Premium Member
 
Posts: 12037
Joined: 04 Nov 2009, 17:43
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 1000
All-game rating: 941
Timezone: GMT

Re: WitA Beta Testing feedback

Postby super_dipsy » 11 Jun 2019, 15:36

Yes, looks like it was all due to the coasts problem. Even though I fixed it, it had left some bad stuff around.

The game should be up and running again now. Hopefully this wont happen again.... :)
User avatar
super_dipsy
Premium Member
 
Posts: 12037
Joined: 04 Nov 2009, 17:43
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 1000
All-game rating: 941
Timezone: GMT

Re: WitA Beta Testing feedback

Postby stew0610 » 19 Jun 2019, 22:11

Looks like the game crashed again. I've never experienced this before we a different variant (though maybe it happens?). What causes that?
stew0610
Premium Member
 
Posts: 85
Joined: 23 Dec 2012, 04:03
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1349
All-game rating: 1354
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: WitA Beta Testing feedback

Postby Charleroi » 06 Jul 2019, 03:27

Not a glitch but an ease-of-use issue:

When you use the click interface to give orders to a fleet in the North Pacific, the options (hold, move, support, convoy) appear to the left of the unit and are almost entirely off screen. If possible, those options should appear to the right of the unit so that they can be read.
Charleroi
 
Posts: 126
Joined: 07 Jan 2016, 05:39
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1577
All-game rating: 1648
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: WitA Beta Testing feedback

Postby NoPunIn10Did » 08 Jul 2019, 18:20

Charleroi wrote:Not a glitch but an ease-of-use issue:

When you use the click interface to give orders to a fleet in the North Pacific, the options (hold, move, support, convoy) appear to the left of the unit and are almost entirely off screen. If possible, those options should appear to the right of the unit so that they can be read.


I'd still count that as a bug. I'll make a note of it and see if there's a trivial way to detect the edge of the window.

What sort of browser are you viewing it on? Desktop or mobile?
NoPunIn10Did
Lead Volunteer Developer

Forum Administrator

Variant GM & Designer
User avatar
NoPunIn10Did
Premium Member
 
Posts: 2402
Joined: 17 Aug 2011, 00:17
Location: North Carolina
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 1000
All-game rating: 1501
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: WitA Beta Testing feedback

Postby Charleroi » 09 Jul 2019, 19:09

NoPunIn10Did wrote:
Charleroi wrote:Not a glitch but an ease-of-use issue:

When you use the click interface to give orders to a fleet in the North Pacific, the options (hold, move, support, convoy) appear to the left of the unit and are almost entirely off screen. If possible, those options should appear to the right of the unit so that they can be read.


I'd still count that as a bug. I'll make a note of it and see if there's a trivial way to detect the edge of the window.

What sort of browser are you viewing it on? Desktop or mobile?


I was looking on an iphone using Chrome. I believe (although I don't completely remember) that the same problem occurred using Chrome on a desktop.
Charleroi
 
Posts: 126
Joined: 07 Jan 2016, 05:39
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1577
All-game rating: 1648
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: WitA Beta Testing feedback

Postby NoPunIn10Did » 09 Jul 2019, 19:38

I think having the browser window a bit larger width-wise than the map makes the interface visible, but that isn’t always possible in a mobile context.
NoPunIn10Did
Lead Volunteer Developer

Forum Administrator

Variant GM & Designer
User avatar
NoPunIn10Did
Premium Member
 
Posts: 2402
Joined: 17 Aug 2011, 00:17
Location: North Carolina
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 1000
All-game rating: 1501
Timezone: GMT-5

Previous

Return to Workshop: War in the Americas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests