Builds and destroys

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: ... 13&t=42845

Re: Builds and destroys

Postby Del01 » 31 Jan 2021, 17:38

You can destroy a unit in the retreat phase if you have lost a territory - Then redeploy it in the build phase if you have enough SCs. Example....Russia loses his SC Fleet in Sweden but gains an SC in Bulgaria. Rather than retreat to the Gulf of Bothnia Russia destroys the Swedish Fleet and re-deploys an army in Warsaw (If open) during the build phase.
Posts: 1
Joined: 13 Oct 2011, 21:19
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (979)
All-game rating: (984)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Builds and destroys

Postby David E. Cohen » 03 Feb 2021, 00:57

Petunia wrote:
jonisilk wrote:Yeah, those are the rules I've looked at and while I agree it doesn't say you can do it, I still maintain that it doesn't say you can't.

It's not a real issue, but I do think it's a rule that has an ambiguity about it.

Well. The rules don't say that you can't disband a fleet and build a banana, either. Is it in your mind ambiguous and open to interpretation whether or not a banana can be built in a winter adjustment phase? Keep in mind that a banana can move up to three spaces at once, fly over land & sea spaces alike, and attack with a force of ten onto any space it can physically touch (when I was young my friends and I would scour the school cafeteria's fruit basket for the largest bananas we could find as it was just possible to get from London to Sevastopol if you found a really honkin' big banana). The rules don't prohibit any of this type of action, you know.

Banana Skagerrak-Moscow :lol:
The Academy of Creative Destruction is looking for new members. Please contact me if you have questions or are interested in joining the ACD.
User avatar
David E. Cohen
Posts: 512
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Location: Treading the Path to Diplo-Shambhala
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-5


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest