Question RE Movement Rules

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: ... 13&t=42845

Question RE Movement Rules

Postby ehangeto4 » 19 Sep 2020, 14:33

In our current game we had Munich supporting an attack on Berlin, Burgundy attacking Munich and Marseilles attacking Burgundy.

What ended up happening is the support to the unit attacking Berlin was cut, Burgundy bounced off of Munich and Marseilles bounced off of Burgundy.

I understand that this is a legal move but I have to question the logic. Shouldn't the attacking unit disrupt the action of cutting support? It seams unfair that Burgundy gets to cut support and defend its territory. I am wondering if there is a reason behind this or it just is the way it is.
Posts: 1
Joined: 19 Sep 2020, 14:30

Re: Question RE Movement Rules

Postby Strategus » 19 Sep 2020, 15:04

No, this is the rule. A unut will cut support even if it is atta ked. The only exception is it can't cut the support of a unit which is attacking it (unless it itself is supported and dislodges the support).
The Devil makes work for idle forces

Better to have fought and lost, than never to have fought at all
Actual Platinum Classicist
I did WDC 2017

UK f2f Champion 2019
Just say "NO!" To carebears and kittens
User avatar
Posts: 4434
Joined: 30 May 2015, 14:30
Location: England
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1580
All-game rating: 1754
Timezone: GMT

Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest