Barbaria: the Army/Fleet rules

8-player game set in 6th century Europe. Multiple units are allowed. Designed by Russell Tulp, introduced and modified by DiploNEV. GMs DiploNEV then BigBert. game started 7 April 2012 and ended with no resolution.

Barbaria: the Army/Fleet rules

Postby BigBert » 18 May 2012, 16:15

The A/F rules are very minimally covered in the rules of Barbaria, so I've copied the full A/F rules here, containing also a few examples to clarify.

Army- Fleet Rules.
a) An A/F may either consist of two units belonging to the same country, or of units of two different countries.

b) An A/F has the same "combat factor" as a single fleet; it may attack, support or be supported.

c) An A/F cannot convoy another army.

d) An Army cannot board an A/F.

e) An A/F can only exist in a sea space - it cannot be ordered to a coastal province as an entity - but it may support some other unit into a coastal province.

f) If an army is ordered to board a fleet, and the A/F is prevented from moving to another sea space the A/F remains intact.

g) If an army is ordered to board a fleet, and the fleet is attacked from another sea space, or if the fleet is ordered to support another unit, the army is considered to have failed to board and it remains in its land province. This is true even if the fleet successfully defends itself against attack.

h) A fleet which lands an army in a coastal province, before making a move, may then support that army to land as its move, or it may move elsewhere. If an army's disembarkation fails, the A/F remains intact and any orders for fleet movement will not be carried out.

i) A fleet may not simultaneously land one army and pick up another.

j) If an A/F is annihilated, then both units are removed from the board.

k) An A/F can be ordered to HOLD. (ie A Lon embarks F Nth, a/F nth Holds)

l) Retreats, Dislodgements and Annihilation. If an A/F is dislodged whilst trying to disembark its A, this move fails and the A and F must retreat together. If an A/F is dislodged and can only retreat to a land space (no suitable sea space being available), the F may retreat but the A is destroyed.

m)Where an A disembarks from the F, and the F then moves away without supporting the A; if the now vacated sea space is then occupied by another unsupported F or A/F, the A disembarkation succeeds; if the second occupation is supported, the disembarkation fails and the A continues with the F.

n) Units of 2 nations may form A/Fs, provided each player involved specifically orders the formation to take place. A combined A/F is always ordered by the owner of the fleet. The army can always be ordered to “get off” by it’s owner, but this only succeeds if the army is ordered to a different destination from the fleet. If the move “get off” does not succeed, the army stands; but if it is dislodged it is disbanded.

o) When a combined (2-Nation) A/F is at sea, the owner of the fleet has the option of disbanding both units in an adjustment phase - scuttling the fleet and the army goes with it.

SO - Now you are completly confused.


CORRECT MOVE EXAMPLES:

A(Lon) E F(ENG); A/F(ENG) - MAO; A(MAO) D Por.

A/F(ENG); A(ENG) D Bre; F(ENG) - NTH.

A/F(ENG); F(ENG) S A(ENG) D Bre.

F(ENG) convoys A(Lon) - Bre.


INCORRECT MOVE EXAMPLE

A(Lon) E F(ENG); F(ENG) S A(Lon) - Bre.
Last edited by BigBert on 19 May 2012, 09:40, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
BigBert
 
Posts: 937
Joined: 03 Jan 2011, 21:36
Location: Arnhem, Netherlands
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1661)
All-game rating: (1740)
Timezone: GMT+1

Re: Barbaria: the Army/Fleet rules

Postby Bluewolf » 18 May 2012, 21:40

it says fleets must be multination, only formed by both players ordering a creation of an A/F
User avatar
Bluewolf
 
Posts: 1529
Joined: 10 Nov 2011, 22:50
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (897)
All-game rating: (896)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Barbaria: the Army/Fleet rules

Postby theangrycastle » 18 May 2012, 23:27

It says that A/Fs can be multination in the original rules, but it doesn't say they have to be.
User avatar
theangrycastle
 
Posts: 243
Joined: 03 Apr 2011, 06:38
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (949)
All-game rating: (951)
Timezone: GMT-8

Re: Barbaria: the Army/Fleet rules

Postby Bluewolf » 19 May 2012, 00:18

11. Units of 2 nations may form A/Fs, provided each player involved specifically orders the formation to take place. A combined A/F is always ordered by the owner of the fleet. The army can always be ordered to “get off” by it’s owner, but this only succeeds if the army is ordered to a different destination from the fleet. If the move “get off” does not succeed, the army stands; but if it is dislodged it is disbanded.
User avatar
Bluewolf
 
Posts: 1529
Joined: 10 Nov 2011, 22:50
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (897)
All-game rating: (896)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Barbaria: the Army/Fleet rules

Postby asudevil » 19 May 2012, 02:35

DiploNEV wrote:11. Units of 2 nations may form A/Fs, provided each player involved specifically orders the formation to take place. A combined A/F is always ordered by the owner of the fleet. The army can always be ordered to “get off” by it’s owner, but this only succeeds if the army is ordered to a different destination from the fleet. If the move “get off” does not succeed, the army stands; but if it is dislodged it is disbanded.


Yeah, that is MAY but they dont have to be.
Captain FANG, forum team championships WINNER
Part of the surviving nations of WW4/Haven

Unless I am in the cheater's subforum. 99% of what I say is NOT as a mod.
User avatar
asudevil
 
Posts: 16606
Joined: 18 Jul 2011, 02:20
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1351)
All-game rating: (1437)
Timezone: GMT-7

Re: Barbaria: the Army/Fleet rules

Postby Bluewolf » 19 May 2012, 04:06

11. Units of 2 nations may form A/Fs, provided each player involved specifically orders the formation to take place. A combined A/F is always ordered by the owner of the fleet. The army can always be ordered to “get off” by it’s owner, but this only succeeds if the army is ordered to a different destination from the fleet. If the move “get off” does not succeed, the army stands; but if it is dislodged it is disbanded.

Niot the may, but the 2 nation. never says anything about 1 nation
User avatar
Bluewolf
 
Posts: 1529
Joined: 10 Nov 2011, 22:50
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (897)
All-game rating: (896)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Barbaria: the Army/Fleet rules

Postby heritikyl » 19 May 2012, 04:13

DiploNEV wrote:Niot the may, but the 2 nation. never says anything about 1 nation


The preceding rule:

10. Armies are not convoyed, but must form Army/Fleets (A/Fs) in order to move over bodies of water. See the A/F rules below.


Clearly implies that, in lieu of convoying, a country must use A/Fs. Rule 11 only outlines how to do it and mentions the possibility ("may") of two countries joining to create an A/F, in the same way that two countries can work in tandem to convoy a unit.
heritikyl
 
Posts: 180
Joined: 03 Jun 2011, 16:31
Location: Canada
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (977)
All-game rating: (976)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Barbaria: the Army/Fleet rules

Postby asudevil » 19 May 2012, 05:31

Wow, good thing this didnt come up while Diplo was GM'ing that could have caused a MESS
Captain FANG, forum team championships WINNER
Part of the surviving nations of WW4/Haven

Unless I am in the cheater's subforum. 99% of what I say is NOT as a mod.
User avatar
asudevil
 
Posts: 16606
Joined: 18 Jul 2011, 02:20
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1351)
All-game rating: (1437)
Timezone: GMT-7

Re: Barbaria: the Army/Fleet rules

Postby theangrycastle » 19 May 2012, 05:51

I think the official rules forgot how to explain how A/Fs worked, so we never got clear rules.
User avatar
theangrycastle
 
Posts: 243
Joined: 03 Apr 2011, 06:38
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (949)
All-game rating: (951)
Timezone: GMT-8

Re: Barbaria: the Army/Fleet rules

Postby BigBert » 19 May 2012, 09:42

So apparently the A/F rules in Barbaria allow for multi-nation A/F's, whereas the A/F rules in Deluge (where I copied these from) don't allow for that. Just to be clear, my interpretation is that A/F's may be multi-country, but they don't have to be.

I've adapted the rules, in point a), and I've copied point 11 and 12 from the Barbaria rules here, they are now point n) and o).
User avatar
BigBert
 
Posts: 937
Joined: 03 Jan 2011, 21:36
Location: Arnhem, Netherlands
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1661)
All-game rating: (1740)
Timezone: GMT+1


Return to Barbaria [1 Game] {All Maps Lost}

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests