Page 1 of 1

NMR retreats : How is destination determined

PostPosted: 07 Mar 2018, 23:57
by Von Ubercastel
I know that for powers that are in civil disorder, a retreat results in a unit being disbanded, or destroyed. However for a power that is active but did not enter Retreat orders, is the unit retreated or destroyed? And if it's retreated how is the destination of the retreat determined if there are multiple options?

Re: NMR retreats : How is destination determined

PostPosted: 08 Mar 2018, 00:02
by mjparrett
It is destroyed...

Re: NMR retreats : How is destination determined

PostPosted: 08 Mar 2018, 00:46
by Von Ubercastel
Are you sure? I only push this because I have seen several times where players entered no orders in the spring just hold hold hold hold they had a unit that was dislodged and retreated somewhere then all their moves in the fall where again hold hold hold hold they had to dislodge it retreated somewhere, and then at the end of the year they were declared Auto surrendered because of no move received. That meant that their retreats happened during a no move received phase.

Re: NMR retreats : How is destination determined

PostPosted: 08 Mar 2018, 00:54
by gareth66
mjparrett wrote:It is destroyed...


Yep. Absolutely. And quite right too. Why should a player who does not enter orders have the system enter orders for him?! Doesn't work that way. If you don't enter orders, no orders are executed.

The only time (ONLY time) the system has an algorithm for deciding what should happen is in the event of disband orders not entered in a Build phase. (Either by an active player or in civil disorder). And in that situation, the algorithm follows the rules of the game to the letter.

Re: NMR retreats : How is destination determined

PostPosted: 08 Mar 2018, 00:58
by gareth66
Von Ubercastel wrote:Are you sure? I only push this because I have seen several times where players entered no orders in the spring just hold hold hold hold they had a unit that was dislodged and retreated somewhere then all their moves in the fall where again hold hold hold hold they had to dislodge it retreated somewhere, and then at the end of the year they were declared Auto surrendered because of no move received. That meant that their retreats happened during a no move received phase.


He is absolutely right. The only circumstance under which a unit will retreat somewhere is if it is ordered to do so.

It might be useful if you could post references to the games you describe. What you are describing is essentially impossible on the site.

Re: NMR retreats : How is destination determined

PostPosted: 08 Mar 2018, 02:01
by Von Ubercastel
I apologize, on closer inspection it seems the situation I was referring to was slightly different. The player had all Hold orders, then retreated, then had 2 more all hold orders, then was auto surrendered. So I guess what happened was the player was NMR, came back and ordered his retreat, then went 2 more NMR, then was auto surrendered.

Thanks to both of you for your answers!