Diplomacy Rules FAQ

Some questions come up a lot... look here for simple explanations of the rules.

Re: Diplomacy Rules FAQ

Postby Waterice man » 03 Sep 2009, 20:28

In standard S01, no fleet can move directly to Sweden
Why did the chicken cross the Möbius strip?

The word 'surrender' derives from old French
User avatar
Waterice man
 
Posts: 4677
Joined: 31 Dec 2008, 18:36
Location: Britain. Chances are, you used to be in our empire
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Diplomacy Rules FAQ

Postby TheRedArmy » 03 Sep 2009, 20:29

A fleet may move to Sweden if it is in any of the following territories...

Denmark
Baltic Sea
Gulf of Bothnia
Finland
St. Petersburg (north coast)

The reason is that a fleet may move from a water space to a land space if the sea zone it is in touches that land space.
If it is already in a land space (such as Denmark) it may move from a land space to a land space only if a sea connects both of them. In the case of Denmark, the Baltic Sea touches both Denmark and Sweden. So it can move. It CAN'T move from Norway to Sweden because they do not share a body of water on their coasts.

Do you understand?

EDIT: Oh. That's what you meant. Yeah, Russia can't hit Sweden in the spring. It's a deal with the coasts.
Focus. Control. Conviction. Resolve. A true ace lacks none of these attributes. Nothing can deter you from the task at hand except your own fears.
Proud Member of the Diplomacy League team, The Force.
New to Diplomacy? Join a Mentor Game!
User avatar
TheRedArmy
 
Posts: 2347
Joined: 14 Jan 2009, 19:13
Location: New Iberia, Louisiana
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Diplomacy Rules FAQ

Postby Banditkills » 03 Sep 2009, 20:30

Sorry, brain freeze.

I was talking about a Fleet in Norway, being able to sail directly to Sweden.
The impossible, what can not be done; until someone does.
User avatar
Banditkills
 
Posts: 83
Joined: 29 Aug 2009, 13:43
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Diplomacy Rules FAQ

Postby connect4 » 03 Sep 2009, 20:32

Banditkills wrote:Sorry, brain freeze.

I was talking about a Fleet in Norway, being able to sail directly to Sweden.


Norway-Sweden is ok (the fleet can move along the coast from one to another without interruption).
User avatar
connect4
 
Posts: 3609
Joined: 15 Nov 2008, 23:56
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (1042)
All-game rating: (1012)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Diplomacy Rules FAQ

Postby TheRedArmy » 03 Sep 2009, 20:34

connect4 wrote:
Banditkills wrote:Sorry, brain freeze.

I was talking about a Fleet in Norway, being able to sail directly to Sweden.


Norway-Sweden is ok (the fleet can move along the coast from one to another without interruption).


Whoa. Really?

Grr...The Ska Sea. I forgot about it. My bad.
Focus. Control. Conviction. Resolve. A true ace lacks none of these attributes. Nothing can deter you from the task at hand except your own fears.
Proud Member of the Diplomacy League team, The Force.
New to Diplomacy? Join a Mentor Game!
User avatar
TheRedArmy
 
Posts: 2347
Joined: 14 Jan 2009, 19:13
Location: New Iberia, Louisiana
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Diplomacy Rules FAQ

Postby A. Smith » 03 Sep 2009, 23:37

TheRedArmy wrote:The reason is that a fleet may move from a water space to a land space if the sea zone it is in touches that land space.
If it is already in a land space (such as Denmark) it may move from a land space to a land space only if a sea connects both of them. In the case of Denmark, the Baltic Sea touches both Denmark and Sweden. So it can move. It CAN'T move from Norway to Sweden because they do not share a body of water on their coasts.

Now, I realize you were wrong and forgot about Ska here, but is there any territory on the standard map which shares a coast with another territory, but does not share a border with a common sea space?
User avatar
A. Smith
 
Posts: 77
Joined: 17 May 2008, 03:39
Location: Under a hyperspace bypass
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Diplomacy Rules FAQ

Postby Waterice man » 04 Sep 2009, 00:14

No, that would be impossible
Why did the chicken cross the Möbius strip?

The word 'surrender' derives from old French
User avatar
Waterice man
 
Posts: 4677
Joined: 31 Dec 2008, 18:36
Location: Britain. Chances are, you used to be in our empire
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Diplomacy Rules FAQ

Postby Banditkills » 04 Sep 2009, 16:34

So what was the verdict?

Can a fleet move from Norway directly to Sweden? One says yes one says no.

The problem with yes. Is that then Sweden could have two coast lines.

Ska coast line, possibly broken by the land mass army travel transit of Denmark. As you can move from Ska to Baltic sea if I recall correctly. You have to travel via Denmark.

And Baltic / Gulf coast line.
The impossible, what can not be done; until someone does.
User avatar
Banditkills
 
Posts: 83
Joined: 29 Aug 2009, 13:43
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Diplomacy Rules FAQ

Postby TheRedArmy » 04 Sep 2009, 16:52

Banditkills wrote:So what was the verdict?

Can a fleet move from Norway directly to Sweden? One says yes one says no.

The problem with yes. Is that then Sweden could have two coast lines.

Ska coast line, possibly broken by the land mass army travel transit of Denmark. As you can move from Ska to Baltic sea if I recall correctly. You have to travel via Denmark.

And Baltic / Gulf coast line.


No, you can move from Sweden to Norway, and vice versa. "Coast Lines" only come into play in Spain, Bulgaria (I think), and St. Petersburg with their 2 coasts.
Focus. Control. Conviction. Resolve. A true ace lacks none of these attributes. Nothing can deter you from the task at hand except your own fears.
Proud Member of the Diplomacy League team, The Force.
New to Diplomacy? Join a Mentor Game!
User avatar
TheRedArmy
 
Posts: 2347
Joined: 14 Jan 2009, 19:13
Location: New Iberia, Louisiana
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Diplomacy Rules FAQ

Postby Banditkills » 04 Sep 2009, 16:54

Ah, cool. Thanks.
The impossible, what can not be done; until someone does.
User avatar
Banditkills
 
Posts: 83
Joined: 29 Aug 2009, 13:43
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

PreviousNext

Return to Regular Rules Issues Explained

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest