THE ELECTORAL COLLEGE: Time To Abolish?

A forum to seperate the more serious discussions from the lighter topics in Off-topic.

Should The Electoral College Be Abolished?

Yes
43%
No
33%
I'm Not American but...Yes
17%
I'm Not American but...No
7%

Total votes : 70

THE ELECTORAL COLLEGE: Time To Abolish?

Postby Minneapolitan » 14 Feb 2017, 04:14

Donald Trumps's victory in the 2016 US presidential election is the fourth time in US history in which the majority of Americans voted for a candidate that lost. If we consider the chaos of the 1824 election, it's the fifth. But this is by design.

I'm no expert on the matter, but the architects of the US Constitution lived in a time when the name of the US was to be taken much more literally: These were thirteen separate states that were loosely united. Uniting together under one single government in the way these men envisioned was something the world had never seen before. This great American experiment was extremely fragile - these were self-governing states that were still highly provincial. At this time it would be normal, for example, for one to identify himself as a Virginian or a New Yorker before identifying as an American (at least in North America). It was understood by these Founding Fathers that these separate states were not equal in population. So when it comes to electing the federal government's executive branch, measures must be taken so the needs and opinions of smaller states like Georgia and New Hampshire could not be drowned out by larger states like Massachusetts and Virginia. Additionally, the Founding Fathers understood that most of the governed were not highly educated on top of being highly provincial and that virtually all media was very local. Their solution was the Electoral College.

Obviously, the United States doesn't live in those times anymore. But there are fundamental ideas at work here that some would argue for maintaining the Electoral College.