Page 1 of 1

Rules question

PostPosted: 01 May 2021, 08:08
by JoaquinViggo
Say there is a unit holding with no support. The unit is attacked by two different forces, both with one support. If only one of those forces attacked, the unit would be displaced. But since the attacks bounce, is the unit still displaced?

Follow-up question. I know that you cannot displace your own unit. Can another player's unit that you are supporting displace your unit? e.g. if England supports a French move against an English fleet (say Brest > English Channel), does the attack succeed?

(The move I have in mind has me defending a territory by supporting an attack on my own unit, in an attempt to bounce an attack from the other side.)

Re: Rules question

PostPosted: 01 May 2021, 09:46
by Phlegmatic
JoaquinViggo wrote:Say there is a unit holding with no support. The unit is attacked by two different forces, both with one support. If only one of those forces attacked, the unit would be displaced. But since the attacks bounce, is the unit still displaced?


No, the unit remains in place. This is a very useful fact in some situations, for example where you want a unit to move to cut some enemy support, but don't want to risk it being dislodged. Just set up an attack into your own territory of at least the force against it, and it can't be dislodged.
Use the Orders Solver to run some scenarios to check your understanding.

For the second point, no, England can't support a French fleet against an English unit.
[ADMIN EDIT: This is not correct. England may not DISLODGE its own unit, either directly or by supporting another power, but it may make the support order of another power into its own unit to cause a bounce.]

But England CAN support a French unit against a French unit.

Example:
France wants to protect Brest without moving there, so she can build there in Fall. So she arranges a bounce, MAO-Bre, Gas-Bre.

The sneaky England player predicts this and he plays ENG support MAO-Bre.

In this scenario the French fleet moves into Brest, meaning that she can't now build a new fleet there, and MAO is now open. A great little trick to use from time to time :D

Re: Rules question

PostPosted: 02 May 2021, 02:59
by Pete the Great
You might also take a look at a forum post titled "22 Rules to Help You Resolve Orders". It can help you figure out what happens in any given situation.

Re: Rules question

PostPosted: 02 May 2021, 08:52
by David E. Cohen
Phlegmatic wrote:For the second point, no, England can't support a French fleet against an English unit.


This is definitely incorrect. You can support a foreign unit attacking one of your own units. The support will not add strength as far as dislodging your unit is concerned, but it would add strength to stand off another attack that would otherwise have been successful.