Rules question

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Rules question

Postby JoaquinViggo » 01 May 2021, 08:08

Say there is a unit holding with no support. The unit is attacked by two different forces, both with one support. If only one of those forces attacked, the unit would be displaced. But since the attacks bounce, is the unit still displaced?

Follow-up question. I know that you cannot displace your own unit. Can another player's unit that you are supporting displace your unit? e.g. if England supports a French move against an English fleet (say Brest > English Channel), does the attack succeed?

(The move I have in mind has me defending a territory by supporting an attack on my own unit, in an attempt to bounce an attack from the other side.)
JoaquinViggo
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 01 May 2021, 07:53

Re: Rules question

Postby Phlegmatic » 01 May 2021, 09:46

JoaquinViggo wrote:Say there is a unit holding with no support. The unit is attacked by two different forces, both with one support. If only one of those forces attacked, the unit would be displaced. But since the attacks bounce, is the unit still displaced?


No, the unit remains in place. This is a very useful fact in some situations, for example where you want a unit to move to cut some enemy support, but don't want to risk it being dislodged. Just set up an attack into your own territory of at least the force against it, and it can't be dislodged.
Use the Orders Solver to run some scenarios to check your understanding.

For the second point, no, England can't support a French fleet against an English unit.
[ADMIN EDIT: This is not correct. England may not DISLODGE its own unit, either directly or by supporting another power, but it may make the support order of another power into its own unit to cause a bounce.]

But England CAN support a French unit against a French unit.

Example:
France wants to protect Brest without moving there, so she can build there in Fall. So she arranges a bounce, MAO-Bre, Gas-Bre.

The sneaky England player predicts this and he plays ENG support MAO-Bre.

In this scenario the French fleet moves into Brest, meaning that she can't now build a new fleet there, and MAO is now open. A great little trick to use from time to time :D
Phlegmatic
Premium Member
 
Posts: 141
Joined: 18 Jul 2018, 16:50
Location: Cheshire, UK
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1484
All-game rating: 1517
Timezone: GMT

Re: Rules question

Postby Pete the Great » 02 May 2021, 02:59

You might also take a look at a forum post titled "22 Rules to Help You Resolve Orders". It can help you figure out what happens in any given situation.
User avatar
Pete the Great
Premium Member
 
Posts: 110
Joined: 10 Feb 2019, 03:00
Location: NY State, USA
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1151
All-game rating: 1162
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Rules question

Postby David E. Cohen » 02 May 2021, 08:52

Phlegmatic wrote:For the second point, no, England can't support a French fleet against an English unit.


This is definitely incorrect. You can support a foreign unit attacking one of your own units. The support will not add strength as far as dislodging your unit is concerned, but it would add strength to stand off another attack that would otherwise have been successful.
The Academy of Creative Destruction is looking for new members. Please contact me if you have questions or are interested in joining the ACD.
User avatar
David E. Cohen
 
Posts: 509
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Location: Treading the Path to Diplo-Shambhala
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-5


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests