finalizing orders

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

finalizing orders

Postby JimHacker » 03 Feb 2021, 11:38

Can you go back and change orders after "finalizing" them?

also: what happens if you have entered orders but not finalized them and the deadline rolls around?
JimHacker
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 12 Oct 2017, 21:01
Location: Maryland, USA
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: 949
All-game rating: 952
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: finalizing orders

Postby V » 03 Feb 2021, 12:57

JimHacker wrote:Can you go back and change orders after "finalizing" them?

also: what happens if you have entered orders but not finalized them and the deadline rolls around?


Yes, after finalising you can enter a different order by usual method, which then “unfinalises” all orders.
You’ll need to finalise again, if wanted.
At deadline all orders are processed finalised or not.
Platinum Classicist
Voilà! In view, a humble vaudevillian veteran cast vicariously as both victim and villain by the vicissitudes of Fate. This visage, no mere veneer of vanity, is a vestige of the vox populi, now vacant, vanished.
User avatar
V
 
Posts: 822
Joined: 04 May 2014, 21:28
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1769
All-game rating: 1827
Timezone: GMT-7

Re: finalizing orders

Postby JimHacker » 03 Feb 2021, 20:16

Thank you. :)
JimHacker
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 12 Oct 2017, 21:01
Location: Maryland, USA
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: 949
All-game rating: 952
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: finalizing orders

Postby UM85 » 04 Feb 2021, 03:42

Be careful, however. If the last person just happens to finalize while you are in the midst of changing your order, you can get caught with a mixed up order. I'd recommend as your first change "changing" one of your orders to the exact same order that is already in there. So if you have Eng Channel Supporting North Sea to Hold, "change" the order to EC supporting the North Sea to Hold. This then unfinalizes your orders. You can then truly change the orders to however you want them to read without the possibility of having messed up an order for the Eng Chan, in this case.
UM85
 
Posts: 111
Joined: 19 Jan 2010, 01:44
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (1316)
All-game rating: (1318)
Timezone: GMT-6


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest