Page 1 of 1

confusion about rules

PostPosted: 22 Jan 2021, 10:04
by scotwilsn72
so I'm new to this game and there are 2 situations that happened of which I don't understand what the result is:



A bul - ser

A gre S A bul - ser



A alb - gre
A ser S A alb - gre



2.

A fin- swe

F bal S A fin - swe



F swe - bal

Re: confusion about rules

PostPosted: 22 Jan 2021, 10:37
by WHSeward
These two cases are resolved under the following rule in the guides tab (glossed from the official rules)
19. Support is “cut” if the supporting unit is attacked from any province except the one where support is being given. Cut support is not added to the force of another unit.

In your first case, both powers are supporting a unit to move, but in both cases the support is cut under rule 19, and therefore no unit moves and all the units bounce 1v1.

In your second case 2 units are attacking 1 and therefore F Swe is dislodged. NB, F Swe-Bal does not cut the support of F Bal under rule 19, because the cut is coming from the province F Bal is helping attack. The idea is a unit cant cut support against itself to turn a 2v1 into a cut and a 1v1.

Hope that helps.

Re: confusion about rules

PostPosted: 22 Jan 2021, 11:17
by Latanst1
The third tab near the top of each page is "Orders Solver". This is a great tool for testing moves and for better understanding some of the more obscure moves. Some of the geography can be difficult to fully understand and this tool is also very good at helping newer players anticipate the results of their own possible moves.

Good luck!
Latanst1

scotwilsn72 wrote:so I'm new to this game and there are 2 situations that happened of which I don't understand what the result is:



A bul - ser

A gre S A bul - ser



A alb - gre
A ser S A alb - gre



2.

A fin- swe

F bal S A fin - swe



F swe - bal