Page 1 of 1

Support - Bulgaria East coast

PostPosted: 25 Apr 2019, 18:34
by s8emt@me.com
Hi, Can anyone verify whether a fleet in Greece and/or Aegean Sea can support a Fleet Constantinople into Bulgaria East Coast?

Re: Support - Bulgaria East coast

PostPosted: 25 Apr 2019, 20:02
by DeMize Mauler
no, Greece and the Aegean do not have access to the east coast of Bulgaria, therefore they cannot offer support there.

They can move to the south coast, so can support there only.

Re: Support - Bulgaria East coast

PostPosted: 25 Apr 2019, 20:19
by condude1
DeMize Mauler wrote:no, Greece and the Aegean do not have access to the east coast of Bulgaria, therefore they cannot offer support there.

They can move to the south coast, so can support there only.


This is completely incorrect. If a unit can move to a province, they can support there, regardless of the coast. Consider St. Petersburg, which would be impregnable from the North if this were the case (Barents and GoB can't support to the same coast), but in reality falls easily from a Northern attacker, regardless of how your units are placed (apart from a wacky stalemate line that holds the Baltic and Scandinavia as well, which exists).

Greece can support Constantinople to the East Coast of Bulgaria.

Re: Support - Bulgaria East coast

PostPosted: 25 Apr 2019, 20:21
by jay65536
s8emt@me.com wrote:Hi, Can anyone verify whether a fleet in Greece and/or Aegean Sea can support a Fleet Constantinople into Bulgaria East Coast?


The answer is yes, it can.

The rule is that you can support any action in any province that you could have moved to. Since Gre and Aeg can both go to the province of Bulgaria, they can support any piece moving into Bulgaria, even if it is a fleet moving to the East Coast.

Pre-2000 editions of the rules actually explicitly stated this, knowing it would have otherwise caused confusion. I don't know why the example was taken out of the 2000 rules, but the rule still stands.

Re: Support - Bulgaria East coast

PostPosted: 26 Apr 2019, 08:57
by Mr.E
And again - no criticism here it just comes up a lot - if you can move there you can support IN the space and INTO the space, but you can't always support OUT from the space.