Convoying along coastlines

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Convoying along coastlines

Postby Pope Pius IX » 20 Apr 2019, 23:38

Hello,

This should be an easy one to answer; my difficult is that now I'm playing a game, I had to find an example that would have no relevancy at all to my game.

Let's say there's an army in one coastal province (Portugal) and a fleet in a neighbouring one (Spain, north coast) and then there's a vacant third province (Gascony.)

Can the army be convoyed to Gascony, from Portugal, by the North Coast Spain fleet?

I suspect not, as convoying on land is weird, but best to check.

Thanks!
Bronze Classicist.
Head of the Roman Catholic Church.
User avatar
Pope Pius IX
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 31 Mar 2019, 15:42
Location: London, when not the Vatican City
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 980
All-game rating: 980
Timezone: GMT

Re: Convoying along coastlines

Postby beadsman » 20 Apr 2019, 23:48

You are correct. That is not possible. Any convoy by land will fail unless it is specifically a rule in a variant game. In standard Diplomacy, it's not possible to convoy by land.
Silver member of the Classicists

"Gentlemen, you can't fight in here! This is the War Room." - President Merkin Muffley
“It is easier to forgive an enemy than to forgive a friend.” - William Blake

Imperator of the Cyon Imperium in CYOC
User avatar
beadsman
 
Posts: 2052
Joined: 05 Oct 2014, 22:33
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1594)
All-game rating: (1605)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Convoying along coastlines

Postby Don Juan of Austria » 21 Apr 2019, 09:41

It put it in other words, your boats have to be in the water to convoy. :)
"In everything, moderation". ~Aristotle
A proud member of the Whippersnappers,
Bronze Classicists,
Lancer in the PBF cavalry.

Ireland in Heptarchy 16!
Don Juan of Toledo in Diplomacy for Dukes and Popes!
User avatar
Don Juan of Austria
 
Posts: 1213
Joined: 19 Feb 2014, 11:50
Location: South Africa, though given to travel
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1047)
All-game rating: (1160)
Timezone: GMT+2

Re: Convoying along coastlines

Postby Charleroi » 21 Apr 2019, 16:07

Only ships at sea can convoy. Pass through provinces (like Denmark and Con) do count as land provinces. So you cannot convoy from London to Prussia, for example.

You can always test out a move on the order check page. It will let you know if you’re trying an illegal move.
Charleroi
 
Posts: 127
Joined: 07 Jan 2016, 05:39
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1577
All-game rating: 1634
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Convoying along coastlines

Postby NoPunIn10Did » 23 Apr 2019, 00:59

Don Juan of Austria wrote:It put it in other words, your boats have to be in the water to convoy. :)


(Except in some variants that include hybrid land/water spaces, like Gibraltar in 1900)
Lead Volunteer Developer & Forum Admin

Variant GM & Designer
User avatar
NoPunIn10Did
 
Posts: 2481
Joined: 17 Aug 2011, 00:17
Location: North Carolina
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 1000
All-game rating: 1451
Timezone: GMT-5


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest