fleets supporting fleets into bicoastal territories

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

fleets supporting fleets into bicoastal territories

Postby grdg » 18 Apr 2019, 21:56

I thought a fleet could only support another fleet into a bicoastal territory to which it is adjacent/could move to.

For instance:

F Norway/Barents - StP NC
F Bothnia/Fin/Liv - StP SC
F Gascony - Spain SC
F Mars/Lyons/WMed - Spain NC
F Greece/Aeg - Bul SC
F Rum/Black Sea - Bul EC
grdg
Premium Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 30 Nov 2015, 23:41
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 978
All-game rating: 1517
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: fleets supporting fleets into bicoastal territories

Postby NoPunIn10Did » 18 Apr 2019, 22:23

This is admittedly a confusing rule. Support isn't given to the destined coast in actuality, but to the whole province itself. The destined coast just happens to be the final address of the moving unit.

F GOB S F Nwy - StP/nc
That order is legal because even though GOB isn't adjacent specifically to the north coast, it is adjacent to St. Petersburg in general.
NoPunIn10Did
Lead Volunteer Developer

Forum Administrator

Variant GM & Designer
User avatar
NoPunIn10Did
Premium Member
 
Posts: 2343
Joined: 17 Aug 2011, 00:17
Location: North Carolina
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 1000
All-game rating: 1501
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: fleets supporting fleets into bicoastal territories

Postby Oh Cheese » 19 Apr 2019, 02:37

NoPunIn10Did wrote:F GOB S F Nwy - StP/nc
That order is legal because even though GOB isn't adjacent specifically to the north coast, it is adjacent to St. Petersburg in general.


Think of it like GoB joins in the attack on St P, which of course it can do. If there's one, unsupported, unit there, and it gets attacked at both it's north coast and south coast, then it's simply 2-v-1 and so the 2 wins.
Oh Cheese
Premium Member
 
Posts: 62
Joined: 21 Oct 2015, 10:03
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1167
All-game rating: 1229
Timezone: GMT+6

Re: fleets supporting fleets into bicoastal territories

Postby Mr.E » 19 Apr 2019, 10:34

If a unit to move INTO a space, it can support another unit to hold in that space or to move into that space; however, it may not be able to support a unit to move out from that space.

Using Bulgaria as an example:
    (1) A fleet in Rumania can move to Bulgaria's east coast. It can therefore support a unit in Bulgaria to hold, and it can support a unit moving into Bulgaria, no matter where the supported unit is moving from. So F Rum S AEG-Rum(sc) works. And it has to do so that there is no difference between armies and fleets occupying spaces. For instance, if F Rum S Gre-Bul(sc) didn't work, when the unit in Greece is a fleet, but F Rum S Gre-Bul did work, when the unit in Greece is an army, that would mean there was a difference between an army moving to Bulgaria and a fleet.
    (2) A fleet in Rumania couldn't support a fleet in Bulgaria moving to the Aegean, however. This is because the Rumanian fleet can't move to the Aegean Sea.

It's no different to armies supporting into landlocked spaces (or, indeed any space but landlocked spaces are easier to show the similarities. Using Munich as an example:
    (1) An army in Burgundy can support an army in Silesia to move to Munich. They're coming at Munich from different sides, of course, but it's a coordinated assault on Munich nonetheless.
    (2) A Bur S Mun-Sil, however, doesn't work because, without a catapult, an army in Burgundy can't move to Silesia.

So, yeah, think of it as: If I can move to the space, I can support IN and INTO that space, but might not be able to support OUT from that space.
Respect neither opinions nor beliefs; only respect the person and the right to express them.
Play by the rules but be ferocious.
User avatar
Mr.E
Premium Member
 
Posts: 184
Joined: 20 Feb 2017, 09:27
Location: Yorkshire
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: 974
All-game rating: 1142
Timezone: GMT


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest