Rule Clarification

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Rule Clarification

Postby GlanePito » 16 May 2021, 07:00

New to the game and trying to get a firm grasp on the rules before i get a group together to play. I need some help with a 2 on 1 situation.

Example:

Russia A Bud-Vie A Gal S A Bud-Vie

Ottoman A Vie-Bud

Basically, will Vienna and Budapest switch or is Vienna displaced?

Also, what would happen if Russia had the same order but Ottoman did: A Vie-Gal ?

Thanks! This game seems great but there seems to be a lot of tricky encounters that will take time to get the hang of sorting out. I appreciate your help!
Last edited by GlanePito on 16 May 2021, 12:04, edited 1 time in total.
GlanePito
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 16 May 2021, 06:53

Re: Rule Clarification

Postby scottyno » 16 May 2021, 09:12

Unless a convoy is involved 2 units will never switch places, in this case the 2 would displace the 1 in either situation. If it's a 2 v 1 the 1 cannot stop the 2 by cutting a support.
scottyno
Premium Member
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 30 Jul 2020, 01:53
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 1050
All-game rating: 1698
Timezone: GMT-8


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest