Hover facility enhancement

Suggestions on improving the site or comments in general?

Hover facility enhancement

Postby super_dipsy » 13 Oct 2017, 06:58

After turning on Hover for everyone, a rather interesting thought came up regarding a possible enhancement.

edmgrim wrote:Took me a while to check it out. But now that I did, I love it. But I would love it even more if it could be adapted so that, when hovering over a territory that you owned, the tip also showed its order status. For example, assuming I was Turkey :

Marseilles (ITALY)
Fleet (TURKEY)
Orders (MOVE Spain South Coast)

-- or --


Marseilles (ITALY)
Fleet (TURKEY)
Orders (None)


My only concern is whether some of the longer orders (eg involving St. Petersburg (North Coast) or something) would rather clutter the display and make it irritating. But on the whole it seems a very nice idea.

How do others feel? I could knock it up and take a screen shot to show what it might look like. But do people like the idea, think it is unnecessary, feel it would clutter things up etc??
User avatar
super_dipsy
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10797
Joined: 04 Nov 2009, 17:43
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1000)
All-game rating: (956)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Hover facility enhancement

Postby Don Juan of Austria » 13 Oct 2017, 13:33

I'd like it. :)

It might clutter things up...but just move the mouse, or go and disable it if you don't like it. ;)
"In everything, moderation". ~Aristotle
A proud member of the Whippersnappers,
Bronze Classicists,
and Lancer in the PBF cavalry.


Italy in ModEx 2,
Hojo Ujimasu in Sengoku,
The Victorious Inland Over-Land Expeditionary Team, in Great Expeditions!
User avatar
Don Juan of Austria
 
Posts: 678
Joined: 19 Feb 2014, 11:50
Location: South Africa, though given to travel
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 998
All-game rating: 1010
Timezone: GMT

Re: Hover facility enhancement

Postby Hybrid » 13 Oct 2017, 16:47

I also like the idea. With how the current hover box looks, I don't foresee an added line of orders being a big issue that'll clutter it up. However, there's only one way to find out ;)
-Steve
User avatar
Hybrid
Premium Member
 
Posts: 107
Joined: 01 May 2017, 03:57
Location: Earth
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 1198
All-game rating: 1145
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Hover facility enhancement

Postby edmgrim » 13 Oct 2017, 18:38

One thing that might help would be to use abbreviations on the "Orders" line. That way, the difference between "St, Petersburgh (South Coast)" -- "StP (SC)" and "Kiel" -- (KIE) is a mere 5 spaces. "SUPPORT" could also be shortened to "SUPP" or, for that matter, all orders could be reduced to a single letter: "M" "C" "H" and "S"
edmgrim
 
Posts: 110
Joined: 31 May 2016, 04:15
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1057
All-game rating: 1064
Timezone: GMT-8

Re: Hover facility enhancement

Postby super_dipsy » 13 Oct 2017, 19:46

Yeah, we used to do orders with the three letter references to the territories, and we could go back to that in a hover box.

It may not be as easy as I hoped though. It is easy to make it show the orders when the page was opened, but harder to make it pick up any changes that have just been made. I will have a think.
User avatar
super_dipsy
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10797
Joined: 04 Nov 2009, 17:43
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1000)
All-game rating: (956)
Timezone: GMT


Return to Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest