Quick Guide: Coasts

Some questions come up a lot... look here for simple explanations of the rules.

Quick Guide: Coasts

Postby jaelis » 28 Jul 2011, 23:50

A few territories have separate coasts, which require some special rules:

Territories with Coasts:
The only territories with separate coasts are:
- Saint Petersburg (north and south)
- Spain (north and south)
- Bulgaria (south and east)
The rules discussed here apply only to these territories, even if some other territories (ie Denmark, Kiel, Constantinople) look like they might have separate coasts. (They do not.)

Only one territory:
Even though these territories have two coasts, they are still just one territory. They can be occupied by only one unit at a time, and that unit occupies the entire territory.

Moving to a territory with a coast:
When you order a fleet to move to a territory with a coast, a submenu is displayed asking which coast you want to move to. You are always given both options, but the order will be legal only if you move to a coast to which you are adjacent. In particular:
- Saint Petersburg (nc) is adjacent to Barents Sea and Norway
- Saint Petersburg (sc) is adjacent to Finland, Gulf of Bothnia, and Livonia
- Spain (nc) is adjacent to Gascony, Mid-Atlantic, and Portugal
- Spain (sc) is adjacent to Mid-Atlantic, Portugal, Western Mediterranean, Gulf of Lyon, and Marseilles
- Bulgaria (sc) is adjacent to Greece, Aegean Sea, and Constantinople
- Bulgaria (ec) is adjacent to Rumania, Black Sea, and Constantinople

If you order a move to a non-adjacent coast, the move will fail.

Having coasts doesn't change the rule that two units cannot swap territories except by convoy. So for instance, ordering two fleets as
- Spain (sc) MOVE Portugal
- Portugal MOVE Spain (nc)
will fail because the two units would be swapping territories, even though the coasts make it look like they are not moving through each other.

Supporting to a territory with a coast:
If a fleet can move into one coast of a territory, then it can support any action in that territory regardless of coast. For instance, a fleet in Marseilles can support a fleet in Gascony to move to Spain (nc), even though the fleet in Marseilles cannot itself move to Spain (nc). It can nonetheless move to Spain, and that is sufficient. Similarly, a fleet in Livonia can support a fleet in Saint Petersburg (nc) to hold.

When you enter an order to support a fleet in or to a coastal territory, you are given a submenu with the different possible coasts. Your support order must exactly match the order of the unit being supported. For instance, if F Marseilles is ordered to support Mid-Atlantic to Spain (sc), but Mid-Atlantic is ordered to Spain (nc), the support will be invalid. So make sure to choose the correct option when entering the support order.

This is true for hold orders as well: if you order Moscow SUPPORT Saint Petersburg to Saint Petersburg (nc), the support will be invalid if the unit in Saint Petersburg is on the south coast.
Last edited by jaelis on 05 Dec 2012, 22:22, edited 19 times in total.
User avatar
jaelis
 
Posts: 1649
Joined: 17 Nov 2008, 22:08
Location: Virginia, USA
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1060)
All-game rating: (1212)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Coasts

Postby Flight253 » 28 Jul 2011, 23:58

Good guide :D Good explanations
GM of Ancient Mediterranean 4

STABBER
User avatar
Flight253
 
Posts: 96
Joined: 25 Mar 2011, 03:04
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-8

Re: Coasts

Postby Couch Tomato » 20 Dec 2011, 02:15

What happens if there's a fleet on Spain West Coast, and another fleet tries to move into Spain East Coast? Do they just bounce?

What if a force of two attacks the East Coast? Would that dislodge the West Coast fleet?
Couch Tomato
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 26 Dec 2010, 20:05
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Coasts

Postby jaelis » 20 Dec 2011, 04:01

Couch Tomato wrote:What happens if there's a fleet on Spain West Coast, and another fleet tries to move into Spain East Coast? Do they just bounce?

What if a force of two attacks the East Coast? Would that dislodge the West Coast fleet?

Well, Spain has a north and south coast, but that's OK. The idea is right: If fleets try to move to Spain (nc) and Spain (sc) at the same time, they will bounce. If a supported fleet attacks Spain (nc), it will dislodge an unsupported fleet in Spain (sc).
User avatar
jaelis
 
Posts: 1649
Joined: 17 Nov 2008, 22:08
Location: Virginia, USA
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1060)
All-game rating: (1212)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Coasts

Postby Couch Tomato » 20 Dec 2011, 18:13

jaelis wrote:
Couch Tomato wrote:What happens if there's a fleet on Spain West Coast, and another fleet tries to move into Spain East Coast? Do they just bounce?

What if a force of two attacks the East Coast? Would that dislodge the West Coast fleet?

Well, Spain has a north and south coast, but that's OK. The idea is right: If fleets try to move to Spain (nc) and Spain (sc) at the same time, they will bounce. If a supported fleet attacks Spain (nc), it will dislodge an unsupported fleet in Spain (sc).


Thanks!
Couch Tomato
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 26 Dec 2010, 20:05
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Quick Guide: Coasts

Postby PriestProphetKing » 24 Nov 2012, 02:01

Does this mean that it is not possible to have an army in St Petersburg and a navy in St Petersburg (NC) at the same time?
PriestProphetKing
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 30 Sep 2012, 21:22
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (1050)
All-game rating: (1266)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Quick Guide: Coasts

Postby rick.leeds » 24 Nov 2012, 13:21

PriestProphetKing wrote:Does this mean that it is not possible to have an army in St Petersburg and a navy in St Petersburg (NC) at the same time?

Indeed it does. A unit is held to control the whole of the space it is in, regardless of where the unit is based within the space. No more than one unit can occupy a space at the same time.
World Diplomacy Forum.
Online Resources editor at the Diplomatic Pouch.
Don't let the stepladder get you. Watch where you're stepping. ANY step could be a doozy.
User avatar
rick.leeds
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8360
Joined: 11 Jan 2009, 04:40
Location: Wherever I am, I'm scratching my head.
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (1158)
All-game rating: (1070)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Quick Guide: Coasts

Postby AlStar » 03 Apr 2013, 17:01

Just wanted clarification.
I think it is ok but can Spain nc support mid Atlantic to west med.
Thanks in advance!
AlStar
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 17 Mar 2013, 00:02
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (966)
All-game rating: (966)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Quick Guide: Coasts

Postby jaelis » 03 Apr 2013, 18:42

AlStar wrote:Just wanted clarification.
I think it is ok but can Spain nc support mid Atlantic to west med.
Thanks in advance!

No, the rule is that you can only support an action in a territory that you could move too. Since Spain (nc) can't move to WMed, it can't support MAO to move there.

Conversely, a fleet in WMed can support MAO to Spain (nc), because WMed can move to Spain.
User avatar
jaelis
 
Posts: 1649
Joined: 17 Nov 2008, 22:08
Location: Virginia, USA
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1060)
All-game rating: (1212)
Timezone: GMT-5


Return to Regular Rules Issues Explained

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest