Quick Guide: Support order.

Some questions come up a lot... look here for simple explanations of the rules.

Re: Quick Guide: Support order.

Postby Carebear » 03 Jan 2017, 00:57

musashisamurai wrote:
VincentK wrote:One more question. A supports B to hold. B moves to C but bounces. Is B still supported by A to hold?


I wouldn't think so, because B wasn't ordered to hold

Have to be careful on your response, a unit not ordered to move may receive a support to hold. This includes units ordered to support or convoy another unit in addition to being ordered to hold or not ordered at all.
You can have my last supply center, when you pry it from my cold dead hands.

Spam Ambassador Wannabe

Officially Sanctioned Site Gadfly (meaning the negative kind of sanction)
User avatar
Carebear
 
Posts: 2389
Joined: 12 Nov 2013, 04:26
Location: In the fingerhold
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1573)
All-game rating: (1589)
Timezone: GMT+8

Re: Quick Guide: Support order.

Postby Shampoo » 03 Jan 2017, 21:37

Thanks both!, clear now.
Shampoo
Premium Member
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 15 Dec 2016, 21:38
Location: Netherlands
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1227
All-game rating: 1236
Timezone: GMT+1

Re: Quick Guide: Support order.

Postby musashisamurai » 03 Jan 2017, 22:18

Carebear wrote:
musashisamurai wrote:
VincentK wrote:One more question. A supports B to hold. B moves to C but bounces. Is B still supported by A to hold?


I wouldn't think so, because B wasn't ordered to hold

Have to be careful on your response, a unit not ordered to move may receive a support to hold. This includes units ordered to support or convoy another unit in addition to being ordered to hold or not ordered at all.


Oh yeah but B can't get supported to stay? Ie:
Unit A Supports B to Hold
Unit B attacks C (bounce)
Unit F Support D to attack B
Unit d attack B

A's support of B doesn't matter since B moved to attack C instead of hold.
¸,,¸_____}\,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,...,,,,,,
`’’´¯¯¯¯¯}/’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’¨¨¨¯
The simulacrum is never that which conceals the truth-it is the truth which conceals that there is none. The simulacrum is true.
musashisamurai
 
Posts: 16124
Joined: 16 Dec 2010, 21:54
Location: Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Quick Guide: Support order.

Postby Carebear » 03 Jan 2017, 22:43

Consider that the person asking the question is not real sure about the rules. Therefore, it is especially important in this case that any accompanying explanation is precise in meaning.

While your answer is correct that A's support is not applicable, both times the way you explained the reason could be understood differently from the actual rules.
musashisamurai wrote:I wouldn't think so, because B wasn't ordered to hold

The first part is kind of wishy-washy. A straight no is more definitive and better. That is fine, I wasn't quibbling about it, but while we're dissecting...

It is the second part that I felt needed clarification so that the questioner didn't have any confusion over the rules. The way you answered implied that ONLY a hold order of unit B would have allowed it to receive the support. This would clearly be incorrect. A hold is an order; if you meant because it did not move, that is different from what you wrote.


musashisamurai wrote:Oh yeah but B can't get supported to stay? Ie:
Unit A Supports B to Hold
Unit B attacks C (bounce)
Unit F Support D to attack B
Unit d attack B

A's support of B doesn't matter since B moved to attack C instead of hold.

Again, using the word hold implies the actual order not that it didn't move.

A unit not ordered to move may receive a support to hold. This includes units ordered to support or convoy another unit in addition to being ordered to hold or not ordered at all.
You can have my last supply center, when you pry it from my cold dead hands.

Spam Ambassador Wannabe

Officially Sanctioned Site Gadfly (meaning the negative kind of sanction)
User avatar
Carebear
 
Posts: 2389
Joined: 12 Nov 2013, 04:26
Location: In the fingerhold
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1573)
All-game rating: (1589)
Timezone: GMT+8

Re: Quick Guide: Support order.

Postby musashisamurai » 03 Jan 2017, 23:21

Oh, now I see what you meant. My apologies
¸,,¸_____}\,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,...,,,,,,
`’’´¯¯¯¯¯}/’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’¨¨¨¯
The simulacrum is never that which conceals the truth-it is the truth which conceals that there is none. The simulacrum is true.
musashisamurai
 
Posts: 16124
Joined: 16 Dec 2010, 21:54
Location: Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Quick Guide: Support order.

Postby Carebear » 04 Jan 2017, 00:00

musashisamurai wrote:Oh, now I see what you meant. My apologies

No worries. It was great that you answered them quickly and correctly. I was just ensuring that there would be no misunderstanding of the reason.
You can have my last supply center, when you pry it from my cold dead hands.

Spam Ambassador Wannabe

Officially Sanctioned Site Gadfly (meaning the negative kind of sanction)
User avatar
Carebear
 
Posts: 2389
Joined: 12 Nov 2013, 04:26
Location: In the fingerhold
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1573)
All-game rating: (1589)
Timezone: GMT+8

Re: Quick Guide: Support order.

Postby Shampoo » 06 Jan 2017, 19:46

One more question.

Russia has an Army in St peters. He gets attacked by a F from the sout coast, golf of both, which is supported from mos.
Is a support hold order from the northcoast (bar sea) enough to defend st Petersburg? The attack came from the south and the defending unit supports from the northcoast.


Different question, the attack comes from Mos with support from the golf of both. That's a standoff i guess. Right?
Shampoo
Premium Member
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 15 Dec 2016, 21:38
Location: Netherlands
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1227
All-game rating: 1236
Timezone: GMT+1

Re: Quick Guide: Support order.

Postby Carebear » 06 Jan 2017, 22:42

VincentK wrote:One more question.

Russia has an Army in St peters. He gets attacked by a F from the sout coast, golf of both, which is supported from mos.
Is a support hold order from the northcoast (bar sea) enough to defend st Petersburg? The attack came from the south and the defending unit supports from the northcoast.


Different question, the attack comes from Mos with support from the golf of both. That's a standoff i guess. Right?

If I understand this correctly:
A StP H
F BAR S StP H

F GOB - StP
A Mos S GOB - StP

As long as nothing cuts support, then the strength of the attack is two and the strength of the defense is two, even - a standoff. Therefore, StP stays.
Same four units just attacking from a different direction results in the same answer.
You can have my last supply center, when you pry it from my cold dead hands.

Spam Ambassador Wannabe

Officially Sanctioned Site Gadfly (meaning the negative kind of sanction)
User avatar
Carebear
 
Posts: 2389
Joined: 12 Nov 2013, 04:26
Location: In the fingerhold
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1573)
All-game rating: (1589)
Timezone: GMT+8

Re: Quick Guide: Support order.

Postby Jorb » 12 Oct 2017, 09:58

If two adjacent territories have armies can they support each other? Would one army have to hold while the other supports their hold?
Jorb
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 12 Oct 2017, 01:20

Re: Quick Guide: Support order.

Postby gareth66 » 12 Oct 2017, 10:08

Jorb wrote:If two adjacent territories have armies can they support each other? Would one army have to hold while the other supports their hold?


Yes, they can support each other to hold.
User avatar
gareth66
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3380
Joined: 06 Apr 2011, 18:09
Location: Uk (North Midlands)
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1485)
All-game rating: (1638)
Timezone: GMT

Previous

Return to Regular Rules Issues Explained

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest