Surrendering

New to the game? New to the site? Wanting to find a mentor game? Have a look here.

Moderator: WHSeward

Surrendering

Postby Parabellum » 12 Jun 2017, 03:42

I'm new to this game, and I was surprised to find that surrendering is frowned upon. I play a lot of chess, so I'm used to resigning in lost positions; in that game, as I'm sure you know, to resign is to show respect for your opponent. To continue to play in a completely lost position, on the other hand, is disrespectful. If you refuse to resign, you're essentially saying that your opponent either doesn't know how to checkmate you, can't see a stalemate that you can sneak in, or will simply blunder away his victory. In other words, to keep playing is a huge insult. I don't understand why the etiquette is different for Diplomacy. Why is it rude to surrender if you don't have a chance to come back? I surrendered as Italy because I thought my position was lost (because I had no idea what I was doing!!), but I found out afterwards that this is rude...
Cowards die many times before their deaths. The valiant never taste of death but once. Of all the wonders I have yet seen, it seems to me most strange that men should fear, seeing that death, a necessary end, will come when it will come.
Parabellum

Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 1048
All-game rating: 1053
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Surrendering

Postby edmgrim » 12 Jun 2017, 03:47

Perhaps the biggest reason it is frowned upon is because this is a 7-player environment. When you leave your nation remains. But by being in "Civil Disorder" the moves it will make (HOLDS) are known to all and may offer one player an advantage or put another at risk. By seeing the game out, you continue negotiations and, while you may not share in victory, you still influence the ultimate outcome.
edmgrim

Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1049
All-game rating: 1057
Timezone: GMT-8

Postby WHSeward » 12 Jun 2017, 03:54

From Dip101