How to use point and click for orders

New to the game? New to the site? Wanting to find a mentor game? Have a look here.

Moderator: WHSeward

How to use point and click for orders

Postby rick.leeds » 18 Apr 2011, 21:36

The point and click system is fairly self-explanatory: to issue orders you move your cursor over the unit and click it, then select the order you want to issue. But I think parts of it need to be explained a little more.

First, DON'T CLICK ON THE UNIT. This is because in some territories the unit doesn't quite fit inside - Albania is a common one. The system recognises orders for territories rather than units. To issue an order, point to a spaceand click on it.

Movement order
1. Click on the space.
2. Click MOVE.
3. Click on the target space.
(If the space has two coasts, you will need to pick the correct coast too.)

Hold order
1. Click on the space.
2. Click HOLD.

Support to HOLD order (most areas)
1. Click on the space the supporting unit is in.
2. Click SUPPORT.
3. Click on the space the holding unit is in.
4. Click on the space the holding unit is in AGAIN.

Support to MOVE order (most areas)
1. Click on the space the supporting unit is in.
2. Click SUPPORT.
3. Click on the space the moving unit is in.
4. Click on the space the moving unit is moving to.

Support in and into spaces with two coasts (St Petersburg, Bulgaria, Spain)
Follow the same process as the above two examples but make sure the orders match exactly.
eg1: Black Sea-Bulgaria (east coast); Constantinople SUPPORT Black Sea-Bulgaria (east coast) will work, as the support order specifies the coast.
eg2: Black Sea-Bulgaria (east coast); Constantinople SUPPORT Black Sea-Bulgaria will NOT work because the support order does not specify the coast.

Convoy order
1. Click the space of the convoying fleet.
2. Click CONVOY.
3. Click the space of the moving army.
4. Click the space the army is moving to.

Multiple convoy orders (eg. London-North Africa)
Follow the process above for each fleet involved in the convoy.

Supporting a convoying fleet
This supports a fleet that might be dislodged, so preventing the convoy from succeeding; eg. If ENGLAND orders London-Belgium, English Channel CONVOY London-Belgium; and FRANCE orders Picardy-English Channel, Brest SUPPORT Picardy-English Channel the convoy will fail because the English fleet in the Channel is dislodged.
To prevent this ENGLAND could order a fleet in Wales to SUPPORT the fleet in the Channel, following the process in Support to HOLD above.

Supporting an army moving by convoy to it's destination (eg. Denmark-Norway)
In the situation where a unit being convoyed may bounce in the destination space it can be supported there; eg. If GERMANY orders Denmark-Norway, Skaggerak CONVOY Denmark-Norway; and RUSSIA orders St Petersburg-Norway, the German army and the Russian army will bounce each other. To prevent this GERMANY could support the army into Norway using a unit in Sweden by ordering Sweden SUPPORT Denmark-Norway, following the process in Support to MOVE above.

An army moving along a coast, from one space to the next (eg. Piedmont-Marseilles)
This is simple enough if there is no fleet in the neighbouring sea area (Gulf of Lyons): use the Movement order process above.
If there IS a fleet in Gulf of Lyons players can move Piedmont-Marseilles by convoying the army or not. If convoying:
1. Click the space the army is in (Piedmont).
2. Click MOVE.
3. Click the space the army is moving to (Marseilles).
4. Click BY CONVOY.
then follow the process for Convoy order above.

If NOT wanting the convoy:
1. Click the space the army is in (Piedmont).
2. Click MOVE.
3. Click the space the army is moving to (Marseilles).
4. Click BY LAND ROUTE.
World Diplomacy Forum.
Online Resources editor at the Diplomatic Pouch.
Don't let the stepladder get you. Watch where you're stepping. ANY step could be a doozy.
User avatar
rick.leeds
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8360
Joined: 11 Jan 2009, 04:40
Location: Wherever I am, I'm scratching my head.
Class: Diplomat
Rating: (1072)
Timezone: GMT

Re: How to use point and click for orders

Postby AlphaActive » 18 Apr 2011, 22:29

At that point if you click the orders tab above the map it should state "X support Y to Hold".
Beware: It's Nucciliar.

I can't host new games of Fable Diplomacy for a year or so but if someone else is willing to I can give advice and names (meaning a few interested player candidates).

If I do or say something stupid that's coz I'm Swedish.
User avatar
AlphaActive
 
Posts: 713
Joined: 14 Mar 2010, 10:36
Location: Finland, we migth not have an SC but we have Father Christmas instead, suckers!
Class: Diplomat
Rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT+2

Re: How to use point and click for orders

Postby jimjams » 28 Jun 2011, 11:04

I have trouble trying to convoy an army from Smyrne to Bulgaria using a fleet in constantinople... is this a valid move ? No convoy order appear for cos fleet.
jimjams
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 14 Jun 2011, 15:30
Class: Diplomat
Rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT+1

Re: How to use point and click for orders

Postby Palin » 28 Jun 2011, 11:19

No, fleets in coastal areas are not allowed to convoy. Even though Constantinople (like Denmark and Kiel) have continuous coasts, they are effectively land areas so fleets in them cannot be used to convoy.
Sooner or later the man who wears two faces forgets which one is real... and thus a stabbing occurs!

Gold member of the Classicists
User avatar
Palin
 
Posts: 2173
Joined: 21 Nov 2010, 02:16
Location: Kifissia, Athens, Greece
Class: Diplomat
Rating: (830)
Timezone: GMT+2

Re: How to use point and click for orders

Postby Madagaza » 11 Apr 2013, 10:38

Nice and helpful post. We have one new player in our group who's been trying to build (unsuccessfully) for two years in one of our learning games. I've tried to explain the steps needed to do it and fingers crossed it'll be third time lucky, but I wondered if he is alone with this problem?
Madagaza
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 24 Feb 2012, 21:18
Class: Diplomat
Rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: How to use point and click for orders

Postby tacocat12 » 16 Mar 2016, 05:32

I have no clue how to build can someone help? please?
tacocat12
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 26 Jun 2014, 22:38
Class: Diplomat
Rating: (955)
Timezone: GMT

Re: How to use point and click for orders

Postby Foibleson » 07 Dec 2016, 21:52

Hi, every now and then I play nonranked with a new player and several times I've noticed that new players tend to order illegal moves. I think what happens is that they order something like Liverpool - London and they think it will work because it says "Liverpool will move to London," but of course it doesn't work. This is one I actually saw in one game, in another game I'm currently in, the Italian who is a brand new player ordered Naples - Adriatic TWO turns in a row.

I'm not saying I have an easy answer for this problem, I don't really think the game should spell out if a move is illegal, but it is a problem for new players.
User avatar
Foibleson
 
Posts: 86
Joined: 21 Jan 2015, 02:38
Class: Diplomat
Rating: 1215
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: How to use point and click for orders

Postby nanooktheeskimo » 07 Dec 2016, 22:48

The solution is...read the rules! Or join a mentor game...or browse the forum...listed in order of likelihood/ease. There's also good ol' fashioned trial and error too.

That's a pretty simple solution, it seems to me. Not to be harsh, but if you can't read the rules of the game (ie, you can only move to adjacent provinces), and interpret a basic map to see they're not adjacent, maybe you shouldn't be playing? At least learn from your mistakes, and look to figure out why that order didn't work, instead of just trying it again and hoping for the best.
Platinum Classicist
(h/t lordelindel)

I am your (co-) Leader.

GM of Blitzkrieg

Cornubia

Need a forum game GM'ed? PM me!
User avatar
nanooktheeskimo
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 2347
Joined: 19 Jun 2014, 19:52
Location: A batters box somewhere
Class: Star Ambassador
Rating: 1256
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: How to use point and click for orders

Postby Carebear » 07 Dec 2016, 23:27

nanooktheeskimo wrote:The solution is...read the rules!

tl;dr wanna jump right in... [Note: Which rules?! Is there a short summary with just what you need to know to play your first game?]

nanooktheeskimo wrote:Or join a mentor game...

Signed-up, but full-up. didn't wanna wait...

nanooktheeskimo wrote:browse the forum...

omg, it's byzantine... [Note: It really is!]

nanooktheeskimo wrote:There's also good ol' fashioned trial and error too.

yep, that is what i am doing to your friend's detriment... [Note: Not me really.]

Seriously though, I wonder if a short vid about the site interface that displays during registration might be useful?
You can have my last supply center, when you pry it from my cold dead hands.

Spam Ambassador Wannabe

Officially Sanctioned Site Gadfly (meaning the negative kind of sanction)
User avatar
Carebear
Premium Member
 
Posts: 2196
Joined: 12 Nov 2013, 04:26
Location: In the fingerhold
Class: Star Ambassador
Rating: (1739)
Timezone: GMT+8

Re: How to use point and click for orders

Postby WHSeward » 07 Dec 2016, 23:34

Carebear wrote:
nanooktheeskimo wrote:The solution is...read the rules!

tl;dr wanna jump right in... [Note: Which rules?! Is there a short summary with just what you need to know to play your first game?]

Yup. Check out the Guides tab and walk through the first 3 or 4 tabs and you will see. The truth is that the Quick Start tab videos are all anyone needs for a first game.
"As a general truth, communities prosper and flourish, or droop and decline, in just the degree that they practice or neglect to practice the primary duties of justice and humanity." WHS

A member of the Classicists.

Ask me about mentor games. Send me a PM or post in the Mentoring forum.
User avatar
WHSeward
Premium Member
 
Posts: 2531
Joined: 29 Dec 2012, 22:16
Location: San Francisco, California, USA
Class: Star Ambassador
Rating: 1835
Timezone: GMT-8

Next

Return to PlayDip Academy

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest