"The Attacked Can't Cut Incoming Support" Rule

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: viewtopic.php?f=130&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: viewtopic.php?f=13&t=42845

"The Attacked Can't Cut Incoming Support" Rule

Postby ntmurphy » 07 Aug 2017, 17:13

Trying to understand why this didn't result in a stand-off, and to understand the rule priority.

ITALY ... in SC SPAIN and PIEDMONT
FRANCE ... in GASCONY, MARSEILLES, & BURGUNDY

Italy's Moves:
Spain Supports Piedmont to Marseilles
Piedmont to Marseilles

France's Moves:
Gascony Supports Marseilles to Spain
Marseilles to Spain
Burgundy to Marseilles

Thinking that Marseilles couldn't cut the support of Spain, I thought Piedmont would land in Marseilles, or at least result in a standoff.

Alternate Assumption: If BUR hadn't attempted MAR, what would have happened?
Attacking Incoming Support.JPG
Attacking Incoming Support.JPG (105.45 KiB) Viewed 136 times
ntmurphy
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 26 Jan 2017, 03:04
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: 992
All-game rating: 990
Timezone: GMT-8

Re: "The Attacked Can't Cut Incoming Support" Rule

Postby Charleroi » 07 Aug 2017, 17:25

A dislodged unit has no effect on the unit that dislodged it. This means that Spain, conquered by Marseilles, will have no effect on events in Marseilles. That means Pie (strength of one) is left attacking Marseilles while Burgundy (strength of one) does the same. The result is a bounce.
Charleroi
Premium Member
 
Posts: 39
Joined: 07 Jan 2016, 05:39
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1596
All-game rating: 1619
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: "The Attacked Can't Cut Incoming Support" Rule

Postby Charleroi » 07 Aug 2017, 17:25

Had Bur not attempted Marseilles, Piedmont's (unopposed) attack would succeed.
Charleroi
Premium Member
 
Posts: 39
Joined: 07 Jan 2016, 05:39
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1596
All-game rating: 1619
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: "The Attacked Can't Cut Incoming Support" Rule

Postby MichaelG » 07 Aug 2017, 20:49

Think of it this way: the Spanish fleet attempting to come support the action in Marseilles was thrown back at the border and was therefore unable to even get into Marseilles.

If Piedmont had supported Spain to Marseilles, you would have had a 2v2 bounce.
MichaelG
 
Posts: 131
Joined: 27 Jan 2012, 01:38
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: "The Attacked Can't Cut Incoming Support" Rule

Postby Shyvve » 08 Aug 2017, 01:36

Chiming in a bit on this one. With all due respect to Charleroi I think the applicable rule here is actually the following:

14. Support is cut if the supporting unit is dislodged.*

*On page 23 of the current rules is found a list of "22 Rules to Help You Resolve Orders." Also found here: viewtopic.php?f=13&t=36374

On page 11 of the rulebook, Diagram 13, is found an example of the rule that a dislodged unit has no effect on the province that dislodged it.
The applicable paragraph reads:

A dislodged unit, even with support, has no effect on
the province that dislodged it.
If two units are ordered to
the same province and one of them is dislodged by a unit
coming from that province, the other attacking unit can
move. This situation doesn’t result in a standoff since
the dislodged unit has no effect on the province that
dislodged it.

2008 Rules are here: http://www.wizards.com/avalonhill/rules ... lebook.pdf
User avatar
Shyvve
Premium Member
 
Posts: 124
Joined: 31 Dec 2016, 20:10
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 1172
All-game rating: 1208
Timezone: GMT-6


Return to Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests