Ranking: does it matter how many units you finish with?

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: viewtopic.php?f=130&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: viewtopic.php?f=13&t=42845

Ranking: does it matter how many units you finish with?

Postby SirThomasMore » 15 Jul 2017, 19:39

When you lose a ranked game, does it affect your ranking if you finish with 0 units, 1 unit, or 5 units? Is there such a thing as 2nd or 3rd place when it comes to ranking?
SirThomasMore
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 24 Dec 2015, 02:59
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (914)
All-game rating: (917)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Ranking: does it matter how many units you finish with?

Postby Carebear » 15 Jul 2017, 20:05

No. Rating is draw based. How many people in the draw and what everyone's rating is.
You can have my last supply center, when you pry it from my cold dead hands.

Spam Ambassador Wannabe

Officially Sanctioned Site Gadfly (meaning the negative kind of sanction)
User avatar
Carebear
Premium Member
 
Posts: 2389
Joined: 12 Nov 2013, 04:26
Location: In the fingerhold
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1573)
All-game rating: (1589)
Timezone: GMT+8

Re: Ranking: does it matter how many units you finish with?

Postby edmgrim » 15 Jul 2017, 23:43

Carebear wrote:No. Rating is draw based. How many people in the draw and what everyone's rating is.

Except, if you have 18 or more centers, your score goes up way more and everyone else's goes down!
edmgrim
 
Posts: 112
Joined: 31 May 2016, 04:15
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1049
All-game rating: 1057
Timezone: GMT-8

Re: Ranking: does it matter how many units you finish with?

Postby nanooktheeskimo » 16 Jul 2017, 12:14

MazieMae wrote:When you lose a ranked game, does it affect your ranking if you finish with 0 units, 1 unit, or 5 units? Is there such a thing as 2nd or 3rd place when it comes to ranking?

A loss is a loss, whether you lose with 0 centers or with 16, it counts against your rating the same. What determines your rating gain/loss is: did you solo? If no, did you draw? If yes, your gain/loss is determined by the size of the draw (there are some instances where, if you are playing with people rated much lower than yourself, you can lose points for a draw). If you are not in the draw either, then you lose points. You lose the same amount of points for losing to a threeway with 3 remaining centers as you do for losing to that same threeway with 0 centers.

Similarly, if you finish a game in a threeway, it's irrelevant if you finished with 1 or with 12 centers, you'll receive the same score for the game.

Bottom line: the only consideration of center count the rating takes into consideration is if you have 18+ or not :)
Platinum Classicist
(h/t lordelindel)

I am your (co-) Leader.

GM of Sengoku, Heptarchy 14.

France

Need a forum game GM'ed? PM me!
User avatar
nanooktheeskimo
Premium Member
 
Posts: 4122
Joined: 19 Jun 2014, 19:52
Location: East TN
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1190
All-game rating: 1288
Timezone: GMT-5


Return to Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest