Failure to Finalize

Rules for using the site and playing on site.

Failure to Finalize

Postby kaptkidd6 » 05 Jan 2017, 17:26

Site novice, if I order all of my units but neglect to finalize before the turn expires, does that count as NMR and all units hold?
kaptkidd6
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 10 Oct 2016, 02:07
Class: Ambassador
Rating: 1117
Timezone: GMT

Re: Failure to Finalize

Postby Carebear » 05 Jan 2017, 17:33

No
You can have my last supply center, when you pry it from my cold dead hands.

Spam Ambassador Wannabe

Officially Sanctioned Site Gadfly (meaning the negative kind of sanction)
User avatar
Carebear
Premium Member
 
Posts: 2036
Joined: 12 Nov 2013, 04:26
Location: In the fingerhold
Class: Star Ambassador
Rating: (1739)
Timezone: GMT+8

Re: Failure to Finalize

Postby mikeoregan » 05 Jan 2017, 18:13

Finalizing is just a way to say that you are amenable to orders being processed before the deadline.
If all players who are required to enter orders for a phase finalize, then the system will process all the orders immediately.
But if just one player does not finalize then the system waits until the deadline to process.
It's just a way to speed up the game, particularly towards the end of a game or in retreat phases.

Either way as long as you have entered any order, you will not NMR.

Do not feel under any obligation to finalize. Especially if you are in the middle of negotiations with someone,
which you should almost always be :-)
User avatar
mikeoregan
Premium Member
 
Posts: 89
Joined: 04 Mar 2014, 12:05
Location: location, location.
Class: Star Ambassador
Rating: 1467
Timezone: GMT

Re: Failure to Finalize

Postby Carebear » 05 Jan 2017, 18:24

Thanks for putting a fuller explanation out there. I was working from phone earlier.

CB
You can have my last supply center, when you pry it from my cold dead hands.

Spam Ambassador Wannabe

Officially Sanctioned Site Gadfly (meaning the negative kind of sanction)
User avatar
Carebear
Premium Member
 
Posts: 2036
Joined: 12 Nov 2013, 04:26
Location: In the fingerhold
Class: Star Ambassador
Rating: (1739)
Timezone: GMT+8

Re: Failure to Finalize

Postby Peregrine Falcon » 20 Jan 2017, 00:46

Hi, I'm new to the PlayDip interface.
Is it possible to tell which players have finalized and which have not?
Thanks
Peregrine Falcon
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 04 Mar 2013, 00:17
Class: Diplomat
Rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Failure to Finalize

Postby WHSeward » 20 Jan 2017, 00:52

No, it is not. Timing of entry of orders is purposely confidential to protect negotiations.
"As a general truth, communities prosper and flourish, or droop and decline, in just the degree that they practice or neglect to practice the primary duties of justice and humanity." WHS

A member of the Classicists.

Ask me about mentor games. Send me a PM or post in the Mentoring forum.
User avatar
WHSeward
Premium Member
 
Posts: 2446
Joined: 29 Dec 2012, 22:16
Location: San Francisco, California, USA
Class: Star Ambassador
Rating: 1835
Timezone: GMT-8

Re: Failure to Finalize

Postby ColonelApricot » 20 Jan 2017, 07:08

Not directly anyway. If you finalise and then processing commences immediately then everyone else must have finalised before you did. In a retreat phase (or rarely a build phase) if there is only one player affected then you will know when that player finalised. Delay can of course be due to many reasons including negotiations, complexity of problem solving, being asleep, restricted availability, pure laziness, or lollygagging to name but a few.

All of this is potentially useful information, perhaps more so in specialised variants such as Fog of war or Versailles.
Bronze Classicist.
User avatar
ColonelApricot
Premium Member
 
Posts: 153
Joined: 06 Oct 2013, 11:48
Class: Ambassador
Rating: 1564
Timezone: GMT


Return to Site Rules

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest