Surrenders

Rules for playing on and using the site.
Forum rules
This section of the Forum is for the Site's rules.
If you have a question about how to play the game, please post in the RULES section of the Forum, not here. The site's rules for standard Dip do not substantially differ from published rules.

Surrenders

Postby BlunderCity » 18 Mar 2017, 17:08

I am new to PLAYdiplomacy and would need a clarification of the rules on surrendering. When a player surrenders during an orders phase, I understand an admin message is informing everyone of it. My question is: is this player making moves during that phase? In other words, is it possible for a player to have surrendered after having entered moves and for his unit to move according to the orders entered before he surrendered?

I'm unclear what an admin message informing players that a power has surrendered means for the phase in progress. Should I expect the units of that power to move during that phase?
BlunderCity
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 05 Mar 2017, 15:44
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 1301
All-game rating: 1306
Timezone: GMT+1

Re: Surrenders

Postby GPD » 18 Mar 2017, 17:13

If he has auto-surrendered, due to two NMRs, then he couldn't have entered orders. If he pressed the "Surrender" button in the status window, he might or might not have entered orders beforehand. He might have entered some or all or no orders.
The Devil makes work for idle forces

Better to have fought and lost, than never to have fought at all
Never NMR(Damnit!), Never Surrender
Gold Classicist
I did WDC 2017
User avatar
GPD
 
Posts: 892
Joined: 30 May 2015, 14:30
Location: England
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1715
All-game rating: 1747
Timezone: GMT

Re: Surrenders

Postby BlunderCity » 18 Mar 2017, 18:06

OK thanks for that clarification.

The message says "surrendered" rather than "auto_surrendered" so I should assume that his unit may move this turn right?
BlunderCity
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 05 Mar 2017, 15:44
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 1301
All-game rating: 1306
Timezone: GMT+1

Re: Surrenders

Postby GPD » 18 Mar 2017, 18:54

Sounds right. It is certainly a possibility.
The Devil makes work for idle forces

Better to have fought and lost, than never to have fought at all
Never NMR(Damnit!), Never Surrender
Gold Classicist
I did WDC 2017
User avatar
GPD
 
Posts: 892
Joined: 30 May 2015, 14:30
Location: England
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1715
All-game rating: 1747
Timezone: GMT

Re: Surrenders

Postby gareth66 » 20 Mar 2017, 00:10

The other message you can sometimes get is that a player has been "admin surrendered". This is when he is removed from the game by a moderator for some reason. This can happen at any point during the move so, just like with an ordinary "surrender", it is possible the surrendered player may have entered orders. Only with the "auto-surrender" notice do you know it was at the very start of the turn (and so no orders can have been entered).
User avatar
gareth66
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3377
Joined: 06 Apr 2011, 18:09
Location: Uk (North Midlands)
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1485)
All-game rating: (1638)
Timezone: GMT


Return to Rules for Fair Play and Fair Use

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests